Buzz!ng with Le Couple Toy

Wheat Free Biscotti

Posted on: July 3, 2012

Although I make lots of wheat free biscuits, cakes and muffins for Barkery Oven, I’ve not tried one for human palate. And I was craving for biscotti, so I searched through my usual wheat free baking sites. I found one where the recipe has all the ingredients I had on hand.

Baking with wheat free flour is quite tricky. The dough is REALLY sticky. Hence you see the peaks in my log in the picture above. A chat with my fave baker friend and chef tells me that I need to sprinkle more flour onto the dough. I guess will try that next time.

Another point to note also is that the biscotti after baking, is more crumbly and dry compared to biscotti made with plain flour. So I couldn’t slice them thin. But, I do like the chunkiness of the biscotti coz I think its nicer to dunk into coffee. So this is just my personal preference.

The recipe is adapted from Girl Cooks World . Actually, if you look at her blog post, you’ll notice her biscotti log is smooth before baking, whereas mine was sticky and a yucky mess. Will have to try this out till I figure out why.

* 1 cup superfine rice flour
* 2/3 cup chickpea flour
* 1/3 cup potato starch
* 1 cup sugar
* 1 teaspoon baking powder
* 1 teaspoon xanthan gum
* 1/8 teaspoon salt
* 2 eggs
* 1 Tablespoon Amaretto
* 2 teaspoon vanilla extract
* 1 Tablespoon butter, at room temperature
* 3/4 cup whole, toasted almonds, roughly chopped

I replaced sorghum flour with chickpea flour. Also, since I didn’t have almond extract, I used 2 tsp of vanilla essense instead. Hmmm…maybe chickpea flour has a different consistency compared to sorghum flour. I’m still not able to locate sorghum flour in KL.

But either way, these have been quite yummy for me. I love my biscotti with coffee in the mornings. 🙂

xoxo

ToyGirl

Leave a Reply

