Buzz!ng with Le Couple Toy

Go-to Cure for Indigestion – Red date and ginger tea

Posted on: July 29, 2012

This past week both ToyBoy and I have been having stomach flu / food poisoning. I vomited my guts out, whilst ToyBoy had a total bowel cleansing system. Not  Nice.  We spent the entire Tuesday sleeping. Along with the vomiting and diarrhea, we also had feverish chills that left us feeling really tired and sleepy. It took a lot of energy just to sit up and drink a bowl of soup. 😦

After we were done with the purging process, we both ended up with indigestion due to the excess amount of wind in our tummies. This makes eating very difficult. Foods that produces gas has to be avoided. Foods that is starchy is a huge No. Foods that ‘excites’ the stomach also cannot touch. In the end, it doesn’t leave us with much choices. Especially not for ToyBoy that had to travel outstation right after he was well enough.

Luckily for me, I was at home. So I made my usual remedy for stomach wind.

The ingredients consists of:

1. Old Ginger

2. Red Dates

3. Dried Longan

4. Goji berries

Slice the ginger. Soak red dates, dried longan and goji berries till slightly soft. Boil a pot of water. When the water is boiling, put all ingredients into the pot and let everything boil for a few minutes. After that, turn the heat down and let it simmer till the red dates are soft and the dried longan as ‘expanded’. I usually let it simmer for at least 20 minutes. Strain the mixture and drink. The ginger gives this drink a warming ‘heat’ that helps your tummy to expel wind. This drink is usually a confinement drink. I adapted the recipe and added goji berries. Oh, I also didn’t mention qty of eaach ingredient as I usually just put in a handful of each. If I want it more ‘heat’, I put more ginger, if I want it sweeter I’ll add more dried longan. Just play with it and go with your taste buds.

I usually drink this for a a day or two till my tummy doesn’t feel gassy and I stop burping after every meal. :p

Kanpei!!

xoxo

ToyGirl

Leave a Reply

